One Last Time

 

Hey there everybody!

I would like to share a poem with you all.

I wrote it a while back when I saw the movie “The Imitation Game.” The story of Alan Turing touched my heart. So, I straightened up the facts and stepped into Alan’s shoes one quiet Sunday evening. And the result was – One Last Time.

I hope you would feel for Alan Turing in your soul as much as I did when I wrote down these lines. And one last thing – my poem assumes that you know the gist of his life. So, to refresh your memory on the ups and downs he experienced, the following 7 facts would be helpful for you guys.  🙂

 

w5.jpg

 

 1. Alan Mathison Turing is known as the father of modern computer science and artificial intelligence.

2. He specified the bombe (the first one of which was called Victory) – an electromechanical device which was used to help decipher German (or Nazi) Enigma encrypted signals. This helped the Allies to win World War II.

 

w0.JPG

 

3. In his 1950 paper, “Computing machinery and intelligence,” Alan proposed an experiment known as the “Turing Test” (also called The Imitation Game) — an intelligence design standard for the tech industry. It opens with the words: “I propose to consider the question, ‘Can machines think?’ “

4. Joan Clarke‘s bright work as a code breaker during WW2 saved countless lives, and her talents were formidable enough to command the respect of some of the greatest minds of the 20th Century, despite the sexism of the time. Joan was in a relationship with Alan briefly.

 

w14.jpg

 

5. Turing was prosecuted in 1952 for homosexual acts. He was forced to choose between hormonal treatment for libido reduction or imprisonment. He chose the former and soon underwent chemical castration through injections of a synthetic estrogen hormone for a year, which eventually rendered him impotent.

 

w6.jpg

 

6. Turing died in 1954, 16 days before his 42nd birthday, from cyanide poisoning. The autopsy ruled it as suicide.

7. [More on The Imitation Game : A person, called the ‘judge,’ must decide which of the two contestants talking to him (via keyboard and screen) is the human and which the machine. Turing proposed that if a judge were less than 50% accurate, then the computer must be a passable simulation of a human being and hence, intelligent.]

 

w32.jpg

 

Here we go…

 

One Last Time

– the story of Alan Turing –

blood red stones ooze

hate and fear, darkness wore

all hell broke loose

are we Human anymore?

the war of worlds

pieces strewn across the day

words are pearls

flesh and bones in disarray.

hardly a thing you imagine

of some people and say nope

curiously it is a sin

to withhold their ray of hope.

those very same souls

like the Reverend of black holes

crawl under your skin

doing what no one can imagine.

I am but one man

who would you save? said the world

she knew me – Joan

two peas in a pod, we swirled.

be One with me

in me – the universe beckons

Scientist she

makes sense of my nonsense.

lies and secrets

there’s plenty to decipher

hope over regrets

life a dangerous cipher.

this is my gamble

for every ship and ferry

scramble unscramble

I christened her Victory.

Oh yes! you know

they took me in as indecent

as Nature’s foe

tried to cure; me to mend.

but I did settle

for the piece of puzzle

with all my mettle

this Enigma’s rustle.

for one last time

let me work my magic

to rescue the rhyme

the meaning of life and logic.

I found my gift

and then gave it away

as histories shift

Remember Alan saved the day.

w1.jpg
Courtesy of The Atlantic

 

w

 

w4.jpg
Courtesy of Huffington Post

 

~/> What do you think about war? How do you feel about Alan’s story?

See you in the comments… 😉

24 thoughts on “One Last Time

Add yours

  1. That’s a touching and complex poem. Alan Turing was certainly a very great scientist. Did you know that he also provided some penetrating insights in biology, where he published an influential paper on how creatures like leopards may come to have the markings that they do?
    As regards war, I am completely opposed to it, under any circumstances.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Really? I didn’t know about that.
      I will certainly look it up. 🙂

      I am happy that it meant something beautiful to you. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to get the message across.

      Like

  2. I don’t remember what exactly I said but I admired your poem and said- “It’s good to find you after a long time since I’ve changed accounts and upgraded to a self-hosted site. It’s a pleasure to read this piece!”

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I would tell you the same thing!

        I am happy that I finally decided to start a blog. Thank God for that moment of courage!

        Because I love this community. It’s been a beautiful journey so far…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, the “From the Diaries of Drew” posts is indeed inspired from Life…

        But, I wouldn’t know how to write it in its entirety. Simply because I haven’t yet figured out what the message is! Life is like that. A Study in Progress.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

The Sieve

Sorting Out Science Stories

The Lousy Design

Trapped in this place is my mind's entropy.

The Honest Fabler

Poems | Flash Fiction | Motivation & much more.

summer's blog

Welcome to my world. Enjoy♥

Autumn Leaves

For those who enjoy fiction

Honest Fabler - Associated

Poems | Flash Fictions | Motivation & much more.

Uncharted Course of Vision

A place where you can find everything

Adea Ademi

Journal of A Lucid Narrative

Aestheticgraphy

| Photography | Fiction | Travel | Life

Burning The Midnight Oil

Personal Writing Blog

A Glimpse of Darkness

cause darkness is my candle ~

The Lost Astronomer

If you’re a woman going through IVF, there’s tons of info. But if you’re a bloke? Not so much. Compared to IVF, the mysteries of the Universe can appear quite straightforward... Updates every Monday(ish)

Dora Cherry Pie

Start with 1 ½ cups of inspiration, whisk with 2 tablespoons of motivation, add 1 large handful of creativity, pour 1 litre of craziness, mix well with 30g of grumpiness, sprinkle with 1 teaspoon of cuteness and serve with one big scoop of quirky sense of humour. Enjoy :)

crispyview

Welcome to the home of an aspiring freelance writer.

But Why?

To live on purpose, you must question everything.

science.casual

All science, mostly casual.

Soundtrack Of A Photograph

Where Music Meets Photography

Braver Than Before

A journey to overcome fear in the midst of life’s uncertainties

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Magnanimous Word

...words to please your heart...words to change the world

It's a Beautiful Tree

roots, branches, leaves, acorns, blossoms, and nuts. . . every story, every person, every generation.

Ramblings Of A Bored Teenager

A platform for experimentation by a budding writer. Constructive critique appreciated. (Please do comment)

Cluster Of Stars

Musings, Travel and Fangirling

poetry2473

My life written through poetry

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Black coffee and cigarettes

Where I create, there I am true (Rilke)

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

One Willow Apothecaries

a gathering place for earth-nourished healing, handcrafted medicine and alchemical gateways of education

BEXoxoBlog

Here goes nothing...

JustMeUKnow

History can drive you to the past, but a story can drive you anywhere you want.

Pat Bean's blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

