An Eclectic Mix

“There is a stubbornness about me that never can bear to be frightened at the will of others. My courage always rises at every attempt to intimidate me.”

I treasure the words of Jane Austen and hold her Pride and Prejudice close to my heart. I feel like I know her. My beloved Jane.

“I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.”

This is who I am – a Writer.

With the courage to feel everything and the liberty to go where the wind takes me.

 

“O Star (the fairest one in sight),
We grant your loftiness the right
To some obscurity of cloud—
It will not do to say of night,
Since dark is what brings out your light.
Some mystery becomes the proud.”

 

The wind is playing with my shirt. Tugging at my mood. Chiding me for being cross. Requesting me to smile. And I can’t help smile at her efforts. For an eternal second, she compelled me to believe that I made the world a better place. With a smile.

 

mjiso.jpg

 

I am wearing one of those floral shirts. It’s short and chic at the front while it’s elegant and a bit longer at the back. Reminds me of how we are all different people all at once. There is a scene in the movie “The Imitation Game” where Benedict Cumberbatch portrays the moment of discovery in all its joy and innocence. I don’t care if that particular point in Alan Turing’s life played out the exact same way or not. However, I love it for a precious reason.

Alan grasps at his great idea during a conversation with a lady on the train. Excited and thrilled with the grandeur of the cosmos, he jumps off the train as it was slowly moving out of the station. The limitations of his body don’t can’t stop him. Because his mind is soaring to heights that are unfathomable to the scars of the physical realm. He is faced with the dilemma of putting down his thoughts onto something concrete. Catching hold of the golden opportunity and determined not to let go, he expresses his theory on the platform floor with a piece of white chalk. I guess he took that phrase ‘something concrete’ quite literally! The strange mix of creativity and science right there warms my heart.

ju.png

There could be many trials and travails on the journey. There would be many nay-sayers surely. You get mocked as a jack of all trades yet master of none. You get teased as they say quiet people are bad people.

Meanwhile, Frost says Choose Something Like A Star…  🙂

 

“Say something to us we can learn
By heart and when alone repeat.

…So when at times the mob is swayed
To carry praise or blame too far,
We may choose something like a star
To stay our minds on and be staid.

 

I have been plagued with self-doubt the last couple of days. A Scientific Question or any Question will do! – My problem is that I don’t have a problem yet.  That’s a line common enough around here. Heard it from one of my friends only a couple of weeks ago. Nevertheless, sometimes you simply can’t escape being low when you end up in the valley somehow. And that’s where I am right now.

So, I find my way back home the classic way. Through words! I reach into those well-worn pages, discover my favorite verses and treasure the old wisdom. As I re-discover myself.

I pour out my heart and while I wait for the ink to dry on the paper, I know I have healed.

jane-austen-heroines-elizabeth-bennet.jpg

“It’s like a work of art
That never gets to see the light
Keep you beneath the stars
Won’t let you touch the sky.

I’m sure you got some things
You’d like to change about yourself.
But when it comes to me
I wouldn’t want to be anybody else.”

Courtesy to Selena Gomez ♥, I know I am a Diamond in the Rough.

Who says I can’t have it all? I need to blossom. But the fruits are gonna be eclectic. I love my left brain as well as my right. I want the best of both worlds.  🙂

juh.jpg

The other day, I was humming the song “Beauty and the Beast”. Whether it’s Ariana Grande’s version ♥ or Celine Dion’s original ♥, I drown in the emotions it invokes.

 

Tale as old as time
Tune as old as song
Bitter-sweet and strange
Finding you can change
Learning you were wrong.

Ever just the same
And ever a surprise
Ever as before
And ever just as sure
As the sun will rise…

 

Why would anyone make such a fuss over a Beast who was released from a curse because a Beautiful woman loved him back?

I couldn’t get through the metaphor first. I was slow in getting that bulb lit up! Anyway, now I know. The Secret of Belle’s Beauty is Not Skin Deep.

l.jpg

You would never know whom you will meet today. It could be anybody. You shall make your first impressions. Resign that new soul to a nobody. Tomorrow, you will look back and realize that you had met somebody whom you didn’t bother to get to know. It is truly your loss then.

So, the message is… you could work miracles if you gave people a chance to let their light shine through. You shall see the truth if your eyes could see who they really are.

The Touch of Love can transform lives.

When I wield a pen and let that lovely poetry of emotions flow, I remember every face I saw and each lesson they taught me. Appearances are deceptive. You could choose to play by the rules or go in search of the truth behind the veil. It doesn’t matter what ‘PEOPLE’ think, stay sincere to your heart and soul. Your Life is Yours.

il_570xN.459800326_njrx.jpg

 

Now let me go back to my business at the lab. I gotta earn that Ph.D. the best way possible. After all, it’s about being a Doctor of Philosophy!  🙂

 

 

I know who I am.

I am an assorted mix. Eclectic. So are you.

 

 

il_570xN.482137829_1jus.jpg

 

~/> Hey? Do you feel like you are many people inside? Is that weird?  😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “An Eclectic Mix

Add yours

  1. I enjoyed reading every word of this magnificent , apart from the application of thought I really admire the way you skillfully used images, they really made this post stand out. Thanks for sharing such a lovely post! According to your convenience please do read some of my writings would love to know what you think about them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sidharth for your views. Yes, I do understand the importance of a visual storytelling. Besides, a picture speaks a thousand words. 🙂

      Definitely, I will stop by your blog soon. See ya then!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

The Sieve

Sorting Out Science Stories

The Lousy Design

Trapped in this place is my mind's entropy.

The Honest Fabler

Poems | Flash Fiction | Motivation & much more.

summer's blog

Welcome to my world. Enjoy♥

Autumn Leaves

For those who enjoy fiction

Honest Fabler - Associated

Poems | Flash Fictions | Motivation & much more.

Uncharted Course of Vision

A place where you can find everything

Adea Ademi

Journal of A Lucid Narrative

Aestheticgraphy

| Photography | Fiction | Travel | Life

Burning The Midnight Oil

Personal Writing Blog

A Glimpse of Darkness

cause darkness is my candle ~

The Lost Astronomer

If you’re a woman going through IVF, there’s tons of info. But if you’re a bloke? Not so much. Compared to IVF, the mysteries of the Universe can appear quite straightforward... Updates every Monday(ish)

Dora Cherry Pie

Start with 1 ½ cups of inspiration, whisk with 2 tablespoons of motivation, add 1 large handful of creativity, pour 1 litre of craziness, mix well with 30g of grumpiness, sprinkle with 1 teaspoon of cuteness and serve with one big scoop of quirky sense of humour. Enjoy :)

crispyview

Welcome to the home of an aspiring freelance writer.

But Why?

To live on purpose, you must question everything.

science.casual

All science, mostly casual.

Soundtrack Of A Photograph

Where Music Meets Photography

Braver Than Before

A journey to overcome fear in the midst of life’s uncertainties

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Magnanimous Word

...words to please your heart...words to change the world

It's a Beautiful Tree

roots, branches, leaves, acorns, blossoms, and nuts. . . every story, every person, every generation.

Ramblings Of A Bored Teenager

A platform for experimentation by a budding writer. Constructive critique appreciated. (Please do comment)

Cluster Of Stars

Musings, Travel and Fangirling

poetry2473

My life written through poetry

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Black coffee and cigarettes

Where I create, there I am true (Rilke)

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

One Willow Apothecaries

a gathering place for earth-nourished healing, handcrafted medicine and alchemical gateways of education

BEXoxoBlog

Here goes nothing...

JustMeUKnow

History can drive you to the past, but a story can drive you anywhere you want.

Pat Bean's blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

